The GRAND STRAND, as the Myrtle Beach area is commonly called, stretches for 60 miles along the South Carolina coast and encompasses many communities within two counties HORRY COUNTY and GEORGETOWN COUNTY.  Some of the communites are: Myrtle Beach, Atlantic Beach, Aynor, Conway, Little River, Loris, North Myrtle Beach,Surfside Beach, Garden City, Murrells Inlet, Litchfield Beach.



OVER 100 golf courses.

50 Miniature golf courses.

Over 1800 full service restaurants

Population of Horry county Approx 322,342 (2016)

Population of Myrtle Beach 32,240 (2016)

Consistent winner of prestigous awards year after year including:

ASK.COM -"Top Family Destinations" (2008)

GOLF DIGEST "Overall Value for Money Destination (2008) 

TRIPADVISOR "Top Family resort (2008)

YAHOO! "Top ten Places for Families to Visit in the United States" (2008)



Homestead Exemption The homestead exemption is not to be confused with Legal Residence. Those age 65 and over, the blind, the disabled or surviving spouses may be eligible for a $50,000 deduction from the Assessor's market value appraisal for their legal residence. Application must be made in person at the Horry County Auditor’s Office by those taxpayers who have not previously qualified. For more information or exact qualifications, contact the Auditor's Office at 843-915-5051.


How is property taxed?
South Carolina's Constitution requires that property be taxed in accordance with the properties value. From the time your property is added to the tax rolls, the tax assessment does not change unless physical changes have been made or a reassessment program is implemented or an assessable transfer of interest occurs. The most recent reassessment was implemented for the 2014 tax year. The next countywide reassessment is scheduled to be implemented for the 2019 tax year. In determining the County's annual budget, County Council sets the tax levy each year. The rate is reflected in "mills" or "millage rate", and one mill is one thousandth of one dollar (.001). The County Assessor appraises real property, the Auditor maintains the property tax rolls and calculates individual property taxes, and the County Treasurer collects the property taxes. All property is appraised at its fair market value and is multiplied by the appropriate assessment ratio for the type of property. All real property is assessed at a four percent (owner occupied primary residence) four or six percent (farm) or a six percent (all other) rate. Therefore, property taxes are determined by multiplying the fair market value, times the assessment ratio, times the millage rate. For example, the tax on your legal, full-time residence in Horry County is determined this way:


A home located in the unincorporated area o Horry County (qualified legal residence):

$125,000 Fair market value of home
x   4% Assessment ratio (4% if qualified legal resident)
$5,000 Assessed value
x   .2026 Countywide millage rate 1
$1,013.00 Taxes
-   601.00 Tax credit - (5,000 @ .1202) School operations
$412.00 Taxes Due

A commercial property located in the unincorporated area of Horry County:

$125,000 Fair market value of home
x   6% Assessment ratio
$7,500 Assessed value
x   .2026 Countywide millage rate 1
$1,519.50 Taxes Due

1 County Millage: 45.2; School: 130.2; Fire: 21.2; Waste Mgmt: 6.0;

Although a taxpayer receives just one property tax bill, there are other agencies that utilize that one tax bill to collect their own taxes. These agencies are itemized out on your bill, which include the School District, municipalities, special tax districts, etc. Any increase by any of these agencies will result in an increase to the overall tax bill.